Welcome to M-Prize, an international chamber arts competition based in Ann Arbor, at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance!

M-Prize aims to:

Identify and showcase the highest caliber of international chamber arts ensembles

Provide a professional performance and adjudication platform for the chamber arts

Help launch and advance the careers of chamber ensembles through prizes and professional development opportunities

Evolve the breadth and depth of the chamber arts landscape and associated professional opportunities for exceptional ensembles


2016 Winner Senior Division Junior Division


$100,000 Grand Prize Winner

Calidore String Quartet

The quartet members-Jeff Myers and Ryan Meehan (violins), Jeremy Berry (viola) and Estelle Choi (cello)-are currently artists-in-residence and visiting faculty at Stony Brook University-New York. They were appointed to the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Two roster for the 2016-19 seasons.

View 2016 Winners and Semi-Finalists

average age 19-35
Grand Prize - $100,000 + performance on UMS Chamber Arts Series

The M-Prize Winner is selected from one of three 1st Place Laureate Ensembles during the Gala Concert at Hill Auditorium on May 19, 2016.

The M-Prize Winner will receive a $100,000 total cash prize for the ensemble.

The M-Prize Winner will perform on a UMS Chamber Arts Series Concert


1st Place - $20,000**

2nd Place - $7,000

3rd Place - $3,000


1st Place - $20,000**

2nd Place - $7,000

3rd Place - $3,000


1st Place - $20,000**

2nd Place - $7,000

3rd Place - $3,000

Additional professional development opportunities may be awarded and may include but are not limited to performances and residencies. The Finals Rounds of M-Prize will be broadcast on Detroit Public Television and made available to PBS stations.

*Tax consequences may arise for winning ensembles.
**The $20,000 Senior Division Award that an ensemble receives as a 1st Place Laureate Ensemble is part of the Grand Prize and not additional to the $100,000.

ages 18 and under

1st Place - $5,000

2nd Place - $3,000

3rd Place - $2,000


1st Place - $5,000

2nd Place - $3,000

3rd Place - $2,000


1st Place - $5,000

2nd Place - $3,000

3rd Place - $2,000

*Tax consequences may arise for winning ensembles.

The next M-Prize Chamber Arts Competition will be held May 1 - 4, 2017.
Applications available November 2016.

2016 Jury Advisory Board Leadership

Geri Allen Jazz Pianist and Faculty, University of Pittsburgh

Lois R. Beznos Former President, Chamber Music Society of Detroit; Founder, Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson International Trio Award

Janet Cowperthwaite Managing Director, Kronos Quartet and Kronos Performing Arts Association

Roberto Díaz Violist, President and CEO, The Curtis Institute of Music

Hank Dutt Violist, Kronos Quartet

David Finckel Former Cellist, Emerson String Quartet and Co-Artistic Director, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Kenneth Fischer President, University Musical Society

Joseph Gramley Multi-percussionist, Chamber Musician, Soloist; Associate Artistic Director, The Silk Road Ensemble; Faculty and Director of Percussion Studies, University of Michigan

Wu Han Pianist, Co-Artistic Director, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

David Harrington Violinist, Kronos Quartet

John Hollenbeck Jazz Drummer, Composer, and Faculty, McGill University

Heinz Holliger Internationally Acclaimed Oboe Soloist, Composer, and Conductor

Members of Imani Winds - Valerie Coleman, Flutist and Composer; Toyin Spellman-Diaz, Oboist; Mariam Adam, Clarinetist; Monica Ellis, Bassoonist; Jeff Scott, Hornist and Composer

Fritz Kaenzig Tubist and Faculty, University of Michigan

Joseph Kalichstein Pianist, Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio and Faculty, The Juilliard School

Martin Katz Collaborative Pianist and Faculty, University of Michigan

Ida Kavafian Violinist and Faculty, The Curtis Institute of Music

Alex Klein Grammy Award Winning Oboist

Glen Kwok Executive Director, International Violin Competition of Indianapolis and Former President, World Federation of International Music Competitions

Margaret Lioi CEO, Chamber Music America

Menahem Pressler Pianist and Founding Member, Beaux Arts Trio and Faculty, Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University

Astrid Schween Incoming Cellist, Juilliard Quartet

Lucy Shelton Soprano, Walter W. Naumburg Award Winner (twice) and Faculty, Manhattan School of Music

John Sherba Violinist, Kronos Quartet

Donald Sinta Saxophonist and Faculty Emeritus, University of Michigan

Arnold Steinhardt Former 1st Violinist, Guarneri Quartet

Carol Wincenc Grammy Award Winning Flutist and Faculty, The Juilliard School

Sunny Yang Cellist, Kronos Quartet

Aaron Dworkin | Dean
Matt Albert | Artistic Director
Heather Kendrick | Program Director
Steering Committee

Nancy Ambrose King Professor of Oboe and Chair of Wind & Percussion Instruments

Melody Racine Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, Associate Professor of Voice and former Chair of Voice

Ellen Rowe Professor and Chair of Jazz & Contemporary Improvisation

Stephen Shipps Professor of Violin and Chair of Strings

Amy I-Lin Cheng Lecturer of Piano

For questions about the competition, requirements, eligibility, or travel/accommodation, please contact Heather at mprizedirector@umich.edu